Arts and Crafty

Spring brings out the creative juices.  I like to make stuff, or adapt stuff, or do anything but clean (unless it involves buying new storage containers – I like to do that).  Recently  I obtained one of my Holy Grail nostalgia cravings… a Yardley lipstick from the 1970s in perfect condition.  It came with a 40 year old coral lipstick.  It smelled divine, it still had that distinctive Yardley scent, but the color, well, it sucked.  I want to use this tube so I can enjoy the case, so I took out the lipstick (and put it in another tube for safekeeping), and made a lipstick out of my Babylips moisturizer which I actually use daily.  Go me!

And a while back, while browsing the upholstery section of the fabric store I fell in love with a Waverly floral print in brown.   I bought it, and then I had to do something with it.  So I made this tote bag, and lined it in a co-ordinating plaid.  Later, I made one of my favorite 1920’s cloches (I have a vintage pattern) and used the scraps to make flowers for the brim.

And belts.  I love green, and I got a really good deal on this vintage celluloid belt, but the 28” waists of the past meant I had a display piece.  Unless.  I experimented with chain, Lucite links and finally found some green dichroic beads that lengthened it enough so I could wear it.  This is not my ultimate solution, but it works for now.

My grandma had a set of coasters just like these hammered aluminum ones, and I used to put playdough in them to make an impression of the floral design.  When I found a very similar, small, hammered aluminum belt, I was forced to buy it.  And it took a while, but I finally found a vintage hammered aluminum link necklace to match.  I used the links to enlarge the belt, so now I can wear it.

And just this week, while internet browsing, I found a recipe for a very moisturizing lotion and made it.  I used pink baby lotion, so that is the color it is, but it is very light and soaks right into your skin without feeling greasy.  I highly recommend it, so here is the recipe:

1 15 ounce bottle of baby lotion

8 ounces of Vaseline

8 ounces of Vitamin E cream

Put it all in a mixer bowl and beat it until it looks like frosting.  You can get all the ingredients at a Dollar Store.  You also need containers to put it in.  If you want to put it into a pump bottle, put the lotion in a Ziploc bag, cut off a corner and pipe the stuff into the bottle, like you would pipe frosting.

Okay, that’s it for my Easter edition of making stuff.  Now I gotta go make a casserole out of ham, hashbrowns, sour cream, cheese, butter. and scallions.  Happy spring!

One Response to “Arts and Crafty”

  1. Carol Carmical Says:

    all these ideas are awesome, and they all come come an awesome and talented lady. Where can I purchase the Remix

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

